Telegram, the messaging app available for Android and iPhone (iOS) and the main rival of WhatsApp, allows you to block contacts and bots saved in the app. The messenger does not send notifications to the blocked contact, but it is possible to identify some clues by the app’s own resources and thus know if someone has blocked you in Telegram.
Checking if the online status and the contact’s profile photo are visible are some of the tips, and you can check others in the list below to find out if you have been blocked on Telegram.
1. No “Last seen” or “Online” status
When you block a contact on Telegram, it is no longer for them to see your status updates. In other words, they will no longer be able to read the messages below the name that indicates when you are online, and when you last used the messenger.
For that reason, if the status updates of any contact in your list are no longer visible to you and there is only a message like “Seen a long time ago”, this can be an indication that your friend has blocked you on the messenger.
2. Photo of the contact does not display
Similar to the previous topic, the contacts you blocked also lose access to some of your profile information in the messenger app, which includes the photo used in the messenger’s profile. Therefore, another way to know if your friend has blocked you on Telegram is to observe if his photo, which was previously visible to you, has been replaced by the respective initials of the contact’s name.
3. Contact does not receive messages
When contact is blocked on Telegram, the messages sent by them no longer reach you. So, this is also a way to find out if someone has blocked you in the messenger. If you suspect that contact has blocked you, go to the chat and send a message.
If you only receive the confirmation of the message being sent, which is represented by a tick, and never the receipt of it (which are two ticks), it may be that your friend has blocked you.
4. Video and Voice Call not Complete
Another way to find out if you have been blocked by someone is to make calls to the person in question. If you suspect that your friend has blocked you, call him/her through the Telegram application. If the call does not complete or displays a privacy notice, it is likely he or she has blocked you.
5. Person does not answer and there is no “account deleted” warning
Telegram allows users to delete their messenger accounts, which implies permanently deleting all messages and content exchanged with friends by the application. When a contact deletes his Telegram account, the messenger displays an “Account Deleted” warning for those who were chatting with the deleted profile.
Therefore, if one of your contacts does not answer or no longer receives your messages, if you can no longer view their status updates and profile picture, and if the “Account deleted” warning does not display, it is very likely that you have been blocked.